James0x57
Database Admin
Leader
Legendary Member
Karma: 70
Posts: 1546
Gamertag: James0x57
|
|
« Reply #90 on: June 26, 2010, 07:37:58 PM » |
|
Sorry 'bout that. As it is now, the code pages use a single txt file for each game.. If I ever shuffle the code pages on the database to MySQL, that will change. It's a daunting amount of work though. (I've shuffled the rest to MySQL in the last 2 months though!) Wish I would have known how to use MySQL way back when I started the db. =P
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
James0x57
Database Admin
Leader
Legendary Member
Karma: 70
Posts: 1546
Gamertag: James0x57
|
|
« Reply #91 on: June 27, 2010, 05:53:59 PM » |
|
HAHA! I just realized that I could fix that stupid "float: right" problem in old browsers since I switched the updates to MySQL.
Background: when using CSS's float: right, if it wasn't the first child of it's parent, it would drop down a line. The solution was to give the floated element a negative margin-top value to offset it. All major browsers had this error and then all of them fixed it at the same time, breaking the CSS. So now, you remove the negative margin so it works on current browsers but then all older versions are broken.
Using MySQL: The pieces of the updates are now stored "separately" (rather than a line of text from a file, in a preset order) so it's much easier to write the pieces in any order you want. Hence, print the right-floated elements first and the rest after=universal WIN.
Now that displays correctly all the way down to IE 5.5! A couple slight tweaks in the CSS along with a transparent PNG hack and the site would be identical between IE6 and the latest IE/FF/etc and really close in IE5.5. :3
edit: Views in the last 2 months, 4,427 loaded with IE6 (GAG!) 9,682 loaded with IE7 (o.O) 52,612 loaded with IE8 (GET FIREFOX)
|
|
« Last Edit: June 27, 2010, 06:05:23 PM by James0x57 »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Skiller
Codemaster Skiller
Hacker
Hero Member
Karma: 114
Posts: 806
|
|
« Reply #92 on: July 03, 2010, 04:29:21 AM » |
|
HAHA! I just realized that I could fix that stupid "float: right" problem in old browsers since I switched the updates to MySQL.
Background: when using CSS's float: right, if it wasn't the first child of it's parent, it would drop down a line. The solution was to give the floated element a negative margin-top value to offset it. All major browsers had this error and then all of them fixed it at the same time, breaking the CSS. So now, you remove the negative margin so it works on current browsers but then all older versions are broken.
Using MySQL: The pieces of the updates are now stored "separately" (rather than a line of text from a file, in a preset order) so it's much easier to write the pieces in any order you want. Hence, print the right-floated elements first and the rest after=universal WIN.
Now that displays correctly all the way down to IE 5.5! A couple slight tweaks in the CSS along with a transparent PNG hack and the site would be identical between IE6 and the latest IE/FF/etc and really close in IE5.5. :3
edit: Views in the last 2 months, 4,427 loaded with IE6 (GAG!) 9,682 loaded with IE7 (o.O) 52,612 loaded with IE8 (GET FIREFOX)
Yay im one of them 52k
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
James0x57
Database Admin
Leader
Legendary Member
Karma: 70
Posts: 1546
Gamertag: James0x57
|
|
« Reply #93 on: July 03, 2010, 04:58:17 AM » |
|
hah I wouldn't admit that publicly.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
dcx2
Computer Engineer
Moderator
Legendary Member
Karma: 165
Posts: 3468
|
|
« Reply #94 on: July 03, 2010, 03:11:14 PM » |
|
Hey James what's the breakdown on IE/Firefox/Opera/Chrome/Safari?
I use a mix of Firefox, Opera, and Chrome. I don't like Chrome's process-per-tab, because I'm one of those tab fiends with twenty or thirty tabs at a time.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
James0x57
Database Admin
Leader
Legendary Member
Karma: 70
Posts: 1546
Gamertag: James0x57
|
|
« Reply #95 on: July 03, 2010, 08:32:13 PM » |
|
IE is a pain in the arse for web developers because it misses many web standards and has a lot of it's own, made up javascript and CSS properties.
Firefox is my favorite one, it's open source, and hits all the web standards. With all the Add-ons you want, it's really great. (some crappy add-ons may cause instability but even then, FF saves the windows and tabs that were open and allows you to select which ones will re-open next time you launch the browser)
Opera is okay but it has some annoying issues. One I know of off-hand is a problem playing sounds in webpages.. There are ways around it but it really misses the useful standards that the rest of the browsers (even IE) do just fine.
Chrome, I really don't like. It has a few javascript problems. The process-per-tab is also a downside for me for the same reason you mentioned. I believe it's been fixed since then, but you couldn't hit enter on a search box to submit it-- not even on YouTube, which is owned by google! Super annoying.
Safari is solid as far as I've come across. Never ran into a problem myself.
They ALL have security issues but IE is usually mocked as the worst. FireFox being open source helps get fixes out quickly. Anyone who's knows what not to do on the internet really doesn't have to worry about the security differences though (however, if one still takes risks from time to time, I would advise against using IE for this purpose too).
|
|
« Last Edit: July 03, 2010, 08:34:58 PM by James0x57 »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
James0x57
Database Admin
Leader
Legendary Member
Karma: 70
Posts: 1546
Gamertag: James0x57
|
|
« Reply #96 on: July 05, 2010, 09:51:55 AM » |
|
..fixed a zero results search error. I don't know how I missed these things.
If you ever see an error on the site, PLEASE TELL ME!
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
James0x57
Database Admin
Leader
Legendary Member
Karma: 70
Posts: 1546
Gamertag: James0x57
|
|
« Reply #97 on: July 16, 2010, 05:40:30 AM » |
|
http://geckocodes.org/index.php?arsenal=3Hex - Dec converter now supports negative numbers. Added a "signed" box for the hex too.
|
|
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
hawkeye2777
Hacker
Sr. Member
Karma: 25
Posts: 355
|
|
« Reply #98 on: August 07, 2010, 09:38:06 PM » |
|
Hey James... having some display issues on my side; not sure if it's just my configuration or what. Here's what it looks like normally for me: Then, using Firebug, I added the property 'clear: both;' to the problem areas and got this: Honestly, I'm not sure why it's messed up for me. It does work fine on Opera 10.6 and only the affiliates box is messed up in the latest Chromium, unlike Firefox 3.6.x where both are messed up. Browsershot of Ubuntu 8.04 Firefox 3.6.3: Just thought I'd mention it... if you need me to debug something let me know.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Currently "retired" from hacking codes.
|
|
|
Deathwolf
Hacker
Legendary Member
Karma: 62
Posts: 1795
|
|
« Reply #99 on: August 07, 2010, 09:47:15 PM » |
|
and what about the "all known" hacker list?
|
|
|
Logged
|
lolz
|
|
|
James0x57
Database Admin
Leader
Legendary Member
Karma: 70
Posts: 1546
Gamertag: James0x57
|
|
« Reply #100 on: August 07, 2010, 10:44:50 PM » |
|
@hawkeye2777 Yeah, it does that for some resolutions for some reason. Also in FireFox if you change the zoom, it may do that. (ctrl+0 to reset zoom) It's cool that you found something that fixes it though.. Where in the css did you add that property to to fix it? I appreciate this, thank you. =)
@Deathwolf Hopefully I'll fix that by Monday. I have a full time Web Developer job now so I do not have much free time! Sorry for this!!
edit: by "monday" I meant by "monday 9/20/2010" >.>
|
|
« Last Edit: September 18, 2010, 07:05:00 PM by James0x57 »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
Deathwolf
Hacker
Legendary Member
Karma: 62
Posts: 1795
|
|
« Reply #101 on: August 07, 2010, 10:53:50 PM » |
|
@Deathwolf Hopefully I'll fix that by Monday. I have a full time Web Developer job now so I do not have much free time! Sorry for this!! please don't worry! it was just a question because it's since 2-3 weeks^^ thanks for your answer
|
|
|
Logged
|
lolz
|
|
|
hawkeye2777
Hacker
Sr. Member
Karma: 25
Posts: 355
|
|
« Reply #102 on: August 07, 2010, 11:42:54 PM » |
|
@James0x57: Here's the fix I used (not sure if it'll work on all browsers though)... Add the following CSS: div.affiliate_links div.row { clear:both; }
div.affiliate_links div.row a { height:14px; }
div.A, div.E, div.J, div.P { clear:both; height:17px; } The height properties remove the little white lines in between each row (shown in my second screenshot). They won't work if the font-size is greater than 10pt... but that can be fixed with some javascript.
|
|
« Last Edit: August 07, 2010, 11:45:44 PM by hawkeye2777 »
|
Logged
|
Currently "retired" from hacking codes.
|
|
|
James0x57
Database Admin
Leader
Legendary Member
Karma: 70
Posts: 1546
Gamertag: James0x57
|
|
« Reply #103 on: September 18, 2010, 07:05:57 PM » |
|
Hacker list is back online with a new feature; it shows the hacker highlighted by what region they usually hack for! http://geckocodes.org/?hacker=allLet me know if you'd like to see anything else on this page! (except the # of codes they've hacked, I can't display that info there, sorry!) edit: Also, Hawkeye or anyone else; do you still get display issues on the main page?
|
|
« Last Edit: September 18, 2010, 07:08:32 PM by James0x57 »
|
Logged
|
|
|
|
hawkeye2777
Hacker
Sr. Member
Karma: 25
Posts: 355
|
|
« Reply #104 on: September 18, 2010, 09:06:48 PM » |
|
edit: Also, Hawkeye or anyone else; do you still get display issues on the main page?
Yep; still the same display issues for me. The CSS snippet I posted above still works for on Firefox 4.0b6; I just made it a Stylish script for now.
|
|
|
Logged
|
Currently "retired" from hacking codes.
|
|
|
|