Codes
WiiRd forum
June 18, 2024, 04:55:21 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome on the new server

Update 4.3 - do NOT update!
Gecko 1.9.3.1
Should I get a USB Gecko, I wanna hack?
How do I use my USB Gecko
Where can I get WiiRd?
 
   Home   CODE DATABASE GAMEHACKING Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16] 17
  Print  
Author Topic: System Menu 4.3 - 06/21/2010  (Read 135962 times)
justin28
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 0
Posts: 83


« Reply #225 on: October 29, 2010, 09:54:15 AM »

wiibrew.org seems to be up and working again but codemii is still down cant use homebrew browser at the moment
Logged
doomkaiber001
Hacker In Training
Full Member
***

Karma: 1
Posts: 163

One day I'll be a hacker! Using ASM too!


« Reply #226 on: October 29, 2010, 10:24:47 AM »

Does anyone know when it'll be back up? Who's working on it?
Logged
justin28
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 0
Posts: 83


« Reply #227 on: October 29, 2010, 01:13:42 PM »

Both sites are up and running again now
Logged
sneakywolfshoe
Jr. Member
**

Karma: 0
Posts: 53


A sneaky wolf...with a shoe


« Reply #228 on: December 21, 2010, 12:11:09 PM »

Hi guys a quick question, how do i use Dopmii if i have 4.2 and want to use the wii shop channel for 4.3?
Logged
WiiRd Gamer
$Hax$
Full Member
***

Karma: 1
Posts: 126


WWW
« Reply #229 on: December 23, 2010, 10:50:49 PM »

I'm too lazy to check but, if you have the latest version of Dop-Mii you could check channels and look if it alows you to install the channel for 4.3 there. You could also always get Dop-Shop and install the newest version of the Shop channel if you can't with Dop-Mii. I hope this helps.
Logged

$M@T_T$
joey9923
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 15



WWW
« Reply #230 on: January 05, 2011, 09:40:47 AM »

Ya it really sucked I accendently updated and I had to go through alot of stuff!  I recommend too
NOT UPDATE
Logged

-Joey

________________

Check out my site:  http://joey9923clan.webs.com/

Remember to sign up Smiley
Patedj
Hacker
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 12
Posts: 528


« Reply #231 on: January 27, 2011, 12:25:45 AM »

My son accidentally upgraded to 4.3e. Good thing I had a copy of my Wii on my computer. Dop-Mii was excellent to help me through everything too.
So I recommend backing up your Wii + checking everything with Dop-Mii
 Afro
Logged

You can pm me, I've got time for your troubles.
dcx2
Computer Engineer
Moderator
Legendary Member
*****

Karma: 165
Posts: 3468


WWW
« Reply #232 on: January 27, 2011, 12:55:46 AM »

If you have the latest HBC, updating to 4.3 is safe.
Logged

KamenRiderGumo
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 30


« Reply #233 on: February 06, 2011, 04:01:50 AM »

If you have the latest HBC, updating to 4.3 is safe.

Does that mean that updating won't wipe out the ability to use cheats on WiiWare/Virtual Console games anymore?
Logged
dcx2
Computer Engineer
Moderator
Legendary Member
*****

Karma: 165
Posts: 3468


WWW
« Reply #234 on: February 06, 2011, 03:54:44 PM »

Hm...I don't know if System Menu updates will remove patches from other IOS.  Your question implies that it used to...so I would say that 4.3 will probably wipe out channel cheats because it's unpatching IOS36.  EDIT: what it will not do is remove HBC, because 1.0.8 uses a different Title ID that 4.3 will not remove.

However, the process of patching IOS36 is much simpler than it used to be.  An official update is probably the easiest way to get the Shop Channel back.  Then use Simple IOS patcher or something like that; it uses AHBPROT instead of downgrading IOS14, which was a process fraught with peril.
Logged

KamenRiderGumo
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 30


« Reply #235 on: February 08, 2011, 06:51:22 AM »

The reason I asked was because I did the system update before to update the Shop Channel and when I went through the process to get my WW/VC cheats back in Gecko, I lost the ability to play newer games (Metroid: Other M and Epic Mickey to name a couple) through the normal Wii launcher and had to load them through Gecko anyway. I'd like to only use Gecko when I want to play around with cheat codes and use the normal method of booting up game disks when I want to play a game straight, yet also not lose my Load Channel option in Gecko. Is that possible at all or am I just pipe dreaming here?
Logged
Nintendo Maniac 64
ニンテンドー マニアック 64
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 30


WWW
« Reply #236 on: March 20, 2011, 08:15:25 AM »

Ya know, someone should REALLY update the "ZOMG DON'T UPDATE" banner...
« Last Edit: March 20, 2011, 08:21:37 AM by Nintendo Maniac 64 » Logged

WiiRd's resident straight male kuutsundere.
(that's a kuudere-tsundere hybrid; from left to right is the outer to innermost)

Cyn
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 8


« Reply #237 on: March 24, 2011, 12:41:57 AM »

OK
1 How do I play 4.3 games without updateing
2 My little brother updated his WII so what are his options

and yes i have been using search but it's damn near impossible to find a clear answer
gives me every post that contains 4or a 3
seperately
or a sorry no matches found
Logged
Nintendo Maniac 64
ニンテンドー マニアック 64
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 30


WWW
« Reply #238 on: March 24, 2011, 01:50:21 AM »

^Launch your game through Gecko OS, 'nuff said.

And other than "shady stuff", nowadays you can use nearly any homebrew on 4.3
Logged

WiiRd's resident straight male kuutsundere.
(that's a kuudere-tsundere hybrid; from left to right is the outer to innermost)

dcx2
Computer Engineer
Moderator
Legendary Member
*****

Karma: 165
Posts: 3468


WWW
« Reply #239 on: March 24, 2011, 12:46:26 PM »

1 How do I play 4.3 games without updateing

I assume you mean, "how do I play games that require installing a new IOS, without updating the System Menu?"

If you use Gecko OS instead of the Disc Channel to play games, and a new game requires the installation of a new IOS, Gecko OS will read the update partition on the disc and install the new IOS without updating the System Menu.  So just use Gecko OS instead of the Disc Channel for all games.

Quote
2 My little brother updated his WII so what are his options

If the Homebrew Channel was already installed and updated to 1.0.8, then updating the System Menu is safe.

If the HBC was not installed, or was out-of-date, then you will need to re-run the Hackmii Installer to get HBC.  This requires a gamesave exploit of some sort if you're on 4.3.  Read this whole post, specifically the part about exploits and the Hackmii Installer.

http://wiird.l0nk.org/forum/index.php/topic,6843.msg59070.html#msg59070
Logged

Pages: 1 ... 14 15 [16] 17
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!