Codes
WiiRd forum
June 18, 2024, 06:23:47 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Welcome on the new server

Update 4.3 - do NOT update!
Gecko 1.9.3.1
Should I get a USB Gecko, I wanna hack?
How do I use my USB Gecko
Where can I get WiiRd?
 
   Home   CODE DATABASE GAMEHACKING Help Search Login Register  
Pages: 1 ... 18 19 [20] 21
  Print  
Author Topic: Gecko 1.9.3.1  (Read 265364 times)
KamenRiderGumo
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 30


« Reply #285 on: May 17, 2010, 12:15:01 AM »

All these features and abilities of Gecko are nice and all, but it does nothing if you can't install it, which is my problem. I've been using Ocarina (all I want to do is cheat; hacking/coding are beyond my abilities), but I've started running into games that won't work with Ocarina. The entire reason I started using Ocarina over Gecko in the first place was that I couldn't find any clear installation instructions. Now it seems I -have- to have Gecko and I have zero clue what to do with it. The few "instructions" I've found on how to install it have been horribly unclear and full of jargon that honestly makes my head hurt, and something else references Chain Loader which, when I try to Google it, gives me results on chain mail armor in World Of Warcraft. I would have thought that installation instructions would have come in the zip file, but if there are any I can't find them. This is frustrating me to the point where I can barely even think straight; I don't want to just try random ways of getting it to work because I don't know how the Wii's software/firmware works and I could easily screw something up. Help, -any- help, is appreciated.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2010, 12:29:24 AM by KamenRiderGumo » Logged
biolizard89
Hacker
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 22
Posts: 373

passport.10.biolizard89@spamgourmet.com biolizard89 biolizard89
« Reply #286 on: May 17, 2010, 12:30:53 AM »

All these features and abilities of Gecko are nice and all, but it does nothing if you can't install it, which is my problem. I've been using Ocarina (all I want to do is cheat; hacking/coding are beyond my abilities), but I've started running into games that won't work with Ocarina. The entire reason I started using Ocarina over Gecko in the first place was that I couldn't find any clear installation instructions. Now it seems I -have- to have Gecko and I have zero clue what to do with it. The few "instructions" I've found on how to install it have been horribly unclear and full of jargon that honestly makes my had hurt, and something else references Chain Loader which, when I try to Google it, gives me results on chain mail armor in World Of Warcraft. I would have thought that installation instructions would have come in the zip file, but if there are any I can't find them. This is frustrating me to the point where I can barely even think straight; I don't want to just try random ways of getting it to work because I don't know how this software/firmware works and I could easily screw something up. Help, -any- help, is appreciated.
Umm, Gecko should install exactly the same as Ocarina.  All Homebrew Channel apps install the same way, by being copied into the apps folder on your SD card.
Logged
KamenRiderGumo
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 30


« Reply #287 on: May 17, 2010, 01:13:24 AM »

....That simple? All that stuff about Chain Loader and IOS and what-have-you stuff I've never heard of before, and it was just a matter of putting it into the SD card to run through HBC? I was under the impression that it worked as its own channel SEPARATE from the HBC.
« Last Edit: May 17, 2010, 01:19:31 AM by KamenRiderGumo » Logged
dcx2
Computer Engineer
Moderator
Legendary Member
*****

Karma: 165
Posts: 3468


WWW
« Reply #288 on: May 17, 2010, 01:40:03 AM »

Uh...I have no idea what this chain loader stuff is.  You probably don't need to mess with IOS, especially if you've already got HBC.  I think what you were reading about was a "forwarder" which puts a channel on the System Menu.

biolizard is right, just drop Gecko OS into the apps folder.  HBC will see it.
Logged

KamenRiderGumo
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 30


« Reply #289 on: May 17, 2010, 01:45:08 AM »

Thanks, guys. Works fine now.
Logged
Thomas83Lin
Hacker
Hero Member
*****

Karma: 86
Posts: 678


« Reply #290 on: May 18, 2010, 02:15:35 AM »

Uh...I have no idea what this chain loader stuff is.  You probably don't need to mess with IOS, especially if you've already got HBC.  I think what you were reading about was a "forwarder" which puts a channel on the System Menu.

biolizard is right, just drop Gecko OS into the apps folder.  HBC will see it.
Wasn't the aka Chain Loader originally what the twilight hack was called?
Logged
111
Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 33
Posts: 438


« Reply #291 on: May 18, 2010, 06:43:36 AM »

Uh...I have no idea what this chain loader stuff is.  You probably don't need to mess with IOS, especially if you've already got HBC.  I think what you were reading about was a "forwarder" which puts a channel on the System Menu.

biolizard is right, just drop Gecko OS into the apps folder.  HBC will see it.
Wasn't the aka Chain Loader originally what the twilight hack was called?

Yes...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zaRhyEUOk44

Pause the video at about thirty seconds, and look at the banner for the Twilight Hack save file.
Logged
Strangeone2007
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 8


« Reply #292 on: August 05, 2010, 11:39:59 PM »

Sorry if this has been asked before, but is there any way to load up channels (virtual console/wiiware games) stored on the sd card menu with codes applied?  I'm just curious because I have little memory space left on the wii and it gets annoying constantly transferring the games between the wii and the card.  Thanks in advance.
Logged
111
Moderator
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 33
Posts: 438


« Reply #293 on: August 06, 2010, 01:45:07 AM »

I could be wrong, but I believe that the channel needs to be on your Wii console.
Logged
stephanjd
Newbie
*

Karma: 1
Posts: 13


« Reply #294 on: August 24, 2010, 04:31:30 AM »

where/how exactly can one get IOS36 and how would one install it?

and another thing.....as of now,gecko doesn't work with GCN games(right?).....if anyone here knows.....is it being developed?.....if not,is there an app for using codes on GCN games??(a long time ago i heard of gecko 2.0 being coded)

-thanks in advance
Logged
WiiPower
Hacker
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 23
Posts: 288


« Reply #295 on: August 24, 2010, 10:02:31 AM »

You can download IOS36 with NUS Downloader, and then install it with WAD Manager. Note that your Wii has an IOS36 already if it has system menu 3.2 or higher.

Gecko OS mod(found in this forum) allows to use Ocarina codes on GC games, but it's not working on all games, some games have issues(Wind Waker freezes on mini map) and games with multiple .dol or .elf files are all not compatible.
Logged
Kage52124
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 2


« Reply #296 on: September 10, 2010, 05:42:20 PM »

If channel loading is a big deal to anyone else out there like me, here's another way of getting it going:

Requirements for channel loading in Gecko OS:

IOS 36 with Trucha (fakesigning) enabled.

That's it, but what's the best way to go about it?

If you are on 4.3 (or 4.3 with the new IOS), go to http://code.google.com/p/dop-mii/downloads/list and use this to try and install a version of IOS 36 with Trucha enabled.  If this doesn't work, install System Menu 4.2 or older, then try again to install an IOS 36 with Trucha enabled.  This way you don't have to deal with NUS directly in a more user-friendly atmosphere, while also avoiding WAD Manager if you're against that kind of thing.

The IOS you get from DOP-Mii v13 will not be the newest version on the servers, but this should work well enough until a better workaround is applied.

Personal note: Gecko OS is the only reason I still have trucha enabled IOS anyway, and I can't wait until Gecko OS is updated so as to not need it anymore.  I hope it can happen.

Edit: strikethrough for correction from Wiipower
« Last Edit: September 11, 2010, 06:11:39 AM by Kage52124 » Logged
WiiPower
Hacker
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 23
Posts: 288


« Reply #297 on: September 10, 2010, 07:41:17 PM »

What? The system menu doesn't have anything to do with it. The latest Gecko OS will require you to have an IOS36 that allows using ES_Identify(ES_DiVerify), or else it can't load channels. Maybe it also requires patched nand permissions, well at least it doesn't harm to have them patched as well. The trucha bug(or an IOS that ignores signatures) actually shouldn't be required to launch correctly signed(=legal!) channels. But i don't know how Gecko OS does its file access in detail, so it might use a patched system menu tmd/tik, which again means it requires an IOS that accepts turcha signed stuff.

So if you have an IOS36 with patched signature checking, patched ES_Identify and patched nand permissions, your Gecko OS should be able to launch channels with Ocarina, and the system menu doesn't matter at all.
Logged
trucheli
Newbie
*

Karma: 0
Posts: 1


« Reply #298 on: October 11, 2010, 06:03:48 PM »

I have 1 game that Gecko 1.9.3.1 is saying "this game requires IOS 21, IOS not found on disk"
You guys know how to fix this?
Logged
WiiPower
Hacker
Sr. Member
*****

Karma: 23
Posts: 288


« Reply #299 on: October 11, 2010, 09:33:07 PM »

I have 1 game that Gecko 1.9.3.1 is saying "this game requires IOS 21, IOS not found on disk"
You guys know how to fix this?


This only happens if you use a modchip and you did patch the disc. If you wouldn't have a chip and you were using a retail disc, the problem wouldn't occur, so i don't know if you are getting help here.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 18 19 [20] 21
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!